13th Annual
Lambda Literary Award
Finalists Named
On This Page:
Finalists Announced | Sponsors
Quick Links to:
Lammy 2001 Schedule | Lammy 2001 Order Form | Lammy 2001 Finalists List | Past Lammy Winner | Hotel Information

Finalists Announced

February 1--The Lambda Literary Foundation announced today the finalists for its 13th annual literary awards for excellence in gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgendered literature.

For the first time in Lammy history, a mother and son were nominated for two separate titles. Anne Rice's Merrick (which combines both her vampire series and her Mayfair with series for the first time) is a finalist in the science fiction/fantasy/horror category, while her son Christopher's debut novel A Density of Souls is a finalist in Gay Men's Mystery.

"The Rices are a perfect example of this year's mix of finalists," says Paul J. Willis, Executive Director of the Foundation. "Ms. Rice has a long established presence in the literary world, while her son Christopheris just getting started." One category that clearly combined established and emerging writers was Gay Men's Fiction, in which gay literary pioneer Edmund White and veteran authors Christopher Bram and Bernard Cooper were joined by two impressive new voices who published their first novels in 2000, Erasmo Guerra and K. M. Soehnlein. "This pattern is replicated in practically every category," Willis noted.

Several titles were selected in more than one category. Ellen Samuels and Noell Howey's anthology Out of the Ordinary appeared in three categories: Non-Fiction Anthology, Children's/Young Adult, and Transgender. Amy Sonnie's anthology Revolutionary Voices (a collection of essays and poems from young and emerging g/l/b/t writers) was named a finalist in two categories, Non-Fiction Anthology and Children's/Young Adult. Other multiple nominees include editor Michael Rowe's Queer Fear (Fiction Anthology, Science Fiction/Fantasy/Horror), Erasmo Guerra's Between Dances (Gay Men's Fiction and Small Press) and Amber Hollibaugh's My Dangerous Desires (Lesbian Studies, Lesbian Biography/ Autobiography). One author, Elena Georgiou was nominated for two different books: Mercy Mercy Me (Lesbian Poetry) and The World in Us, (Gay Men's Poetry) which she co-edited with Michael Lassell. Also nominated for two titles was Krandall Kraus whose Love's Last Chance was a finalist for gay men's mystery while his book, It's Never About What It's About co-authored with Paul Borja, was a Spirituality/Religion finalist.

Not only do the nominees showcase the vitality of over 20 years of gay and lesbian publishing, there is also broad representation in terms of publishers. Alyson Books, a g/l/b/t press, topped the list with 10 total nominations, closely followed by St. Martins, a large New York publisher. Other publishers include university presses such as Duke University Press, University of Wisconsin Press and University of Chicago Press. Other publishers ran the gamut from bigger New York houses of Knopf, Simon & Schuster, and Viking to small presses such as Naiad, Bella, Painted Leaf and West Beach Books.

The Lambda Literary Awards program has a rigorous three-tier selection process. First, a list of nominees is assembled from thousands of nomination forms distributed nationwide. The nominated titles, which this year numbered nearly 500, are narrowed down by a finalist committee including book professionals and members of the glbt press. Seventy judges representing a broad cross-section of our literary community then select a single book to win the Lammy in each of twenty categories. Past winners include Edmund White, Dorothy Allison, Audre Lorde, Paul Monette, and Jeanette Winterson (who this year is a Lesbian Fiction Finalist for The Powerbook), to name a few.

"I certainly am glad I don't have to be a judge," said LLF Executive Director Paul J. Willis, noting the uniformly high overall quality of this year's finalists.

This year's awards presentation will be preceded by Lammy finalists events in New Orleans (March 27, in conjunction with the Tennessee Williams Literary Festival) San Francisco (April 12, at the San Francisco Main Public Library), and Chicago (Tentative date: April 26), at the Gerber-Hart Library). The winners will be announced at a gala event to be held at the Chicago Mart Plaza in Chicago, IL, on May 31, 2000. Tickets to the reception and Gala Banquet are $125 each ($100 if purchased before March 1). Stand-up comic Bob Smith and slam poet Alix Olson will share hosting duties. Additional Lammy readings will be held in Washington, D.C.

For further information about the awards program or banquet tickets, please contact the Lambda Literary Foundation, P.O. Box 73910, Washington, D.C. 20056-13910; phone the LAMMYS LINE at (202) 682-0952; or e-mail us at Jim_Marks@lambdalit.org.

The 2001 Lambda Literary Awards Ceremony is a program of the Lambda Literary Foundation.

The Sponsors for the 2001 Lambda Literary Awards Ceremony are:

Reception Sponsor:
Awards Ceremony Patron:
Gay Media Sponsor:

The Haworth Press, Inc.
Harrington Park Press
American Booksellers Association
Genre Magazine
Corporate Sponsors:
Gay Chicago Magazine
Gill Foundation
InsightOut Books
St. Martin's Press
Walsworth Publishing Company
Windy City Times
Monette/Horowitz Trust
Contributing Sponsors:
The Arch and Bruce Brown Foundation
Chicago Area Gay & Lesbian
Chamber of Commerce
Human Rights Campaign
The Playboy Foundation
Publishers Weekly
Random House

© 2001 Lambda Literary Foundation
The Solun Group