12th Annual Lambda Literary Awards Finalists Named

     The Lambda Literary Foundation proudly announces this year's Lambda Literary Awards finalists. The Lammys, the most prestigious and comprehensive gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender literary awards in the country, honors books for their excellence and vision. On June 1st, 2000, in Chicago--the eve of Book Expo America--over 100 authors, editors, and visual artists will receive Lammys from over twenty categories. Also attending the gala evening will be representatives from virtually every North American publisher participating in the glbt book industry, publicists and agents, booksellers and book lovers, and artists and personalities from throughout the glbt community.

     The Lambda Literary Awards program has a three-tier selection process. First, a list of nominees is assembled from thousands of nomination forms distributed nationwide. The nominated titles, which this year numbered nearly a thousand, are narrowed down by a finalist committee that includes book professionals and members of the glbt press. Seventy judges representing a broad cross-section of our literary community then select a single book to win the Lammy in each of twenty categories. Past winners include Edmund White, Dorothy Allison, Audre Lorde, Paul Monette, and Jeanette Winterson, to name a few.

     This year's awards presentation will be preceded by Lammy finalists events in readings in San Francisco (April 13, at the San Francisco Main Public Library), and Chicago (April 28, at the Gerber-Hart Library). The winners will be announced at a gala event to be held at the Palmer House Hilton in Chicago, IL, on June 1, 2000. Tickets are $125 for the VIP reception, dinner and awards ceremony; $100 for the dinner and ceremony. A limited number of scholarship tickets will be available. Additional Lammy readings will be held in Washington, D.C. (June 7), New York (June 15), Philadelphia (June 17) and New Haven (June 18).

The 12th Annual Lambda Literary Awards are sponsored by:

--Awards Dinner Sponsor

-- Official airline of the Lambda Literary Awards ·

-- National Gay Media Sponsor

Patrons: Bookazine · Chivas Regal · St. Martin's Press · The American Booksellers Association


Sponsors:The Haworth Press · One in Ten

Contributors:    The Arch and Bruce Brown Foundation · Alyson Publications · Borders · Bud Light · The Chicago Area Gay and Lesbian Chamber of Commerce · Consortium Distributors · Daedalus Books · The Human Rights Campaign · Gray Goose · Gill Foundation · The LPC Group · The Monette/Horowitz Trust · Naiad · NGLTF · Outlines and BlacklinesNewspapers · The Playboy Foundation · Random House · Third Coast Marketing ·

Lammy 2000 Schedule

Lammy 2000 Finalists List

Lammy 2000 Ticket Information

Past Lammy Winners